Up to the challenge 

The 30 Paintings in 30 Days challenge has become one of my favorite things. They’re a great way to push myself to knuckle down and get some work done.

I particularly like artist Leslie Saeta’s challenge, which she hosts twice per year, because I love getting to see all of the other artwork being produced. I’m also a believer in the sheer energy put into the universe by so many people focusing on the same thing at the same time.

Unfortunately, the first challenge of the year starts on January 1st. Depression crept into my life a few years ago, and winter is a difficult time to get motivated. (And, seriously, winter bites anyway. I’m a warm weather gal.) Plus, my son is still on Christmas break during the first couple of days, which is not conducive to getting things done.

Fortunately, I’ve learned to ease myself into it. Small, simple pieces are great for getting the ball rolling. They also let me start layering other pieces to work on as the month progresses.

Elephant and her message

My first day’s painting came out of an intuitive painting workshop. The elephant just showed up, standing nearly hip deep in the current, totally comfortable with her ability to navigate it. She’s looking back at me like she’s waiting for me to catch up.

End of year mandala

Day 2 is from a mandala workshop. It’s a reflection on the good things from 2016 and setting intentions for 2017. The basic pattern is the Seed of Life from Kathryn Costa’s Mandala Workbook.

So far, so good. Getting started on making and meeting goals is always a fantastic way to start a new year!

If you’re interested in Leslie’s challenge, you can check it out at 30 in 30.

Leave a Reply

